GoWild Giveaway: Venison Cookbook by Jon Wipfli

GoWild Giveaway: Venison Cookbook by Jon Wipfli

October 28, 2017 1 Comment

How to butcher a deer

Jon Wipfli is one of the most inspiring and down-to-earth wild game chefs we know. He grew up in Wisconsin and is currently based in Minnesota. As a passionate hunter and trained chef, you'd assume he's probably pretty good with venison. But when you see his new cookbook and try some of these amazing creations, you'll see why he's become so well known as being a master of the slay to gourmet approach. 

The book, aptly titled Venison, includes more than 30 venison recipes, with accompanying accoutrements and sides. Pages are laden with beautiful photography and thoughtful instructions. Jon's approach will feel familiar for fans of Hank Shaw, Jeremiah Doughty and Steve Rinella, as Venison is written in an authentic voice and goes well beyond the skillet. Jon is a steward of the lifestyle of hunting, and bears the torch of a conservationist well. For example, his guide to field dressing and butchering is thorough and assumes nothing. Jon seems to understand that the process can be intimidating to new hunters, and with that in mind, he's offering one of the best guides we've seen. 

Venison Shot

While the quality of Jon's book reminds us of those elites, Venison is not Buck, Buck, Moose 2.0. This book is wholly original and feels fresh from front to back. Unique to Venison are the fanciful displays of culinary tact, found in recipes such as Porcini-Encrusted Loin, or Whole Confit Deer Leg. Don't worry, Jon's recipes aren't all as intimidating as those sound. Dishes like Leg Sandwiches offer a restaurant-grade meal with ease. 

Get the venison recipe book

One thing we love about Jon's approach is he sees a challenge with every animal he harvests.

“If you get a whole animal, you have to let that animal dictate what you’re going to cook,” Wipfli told The Growler. “You can’t just cook backstrap every single time you cook venison.” Because, obviously, a deer isn’t made up of just backstraps. There’s shoulder, hindquarter, shank, neck, bone for stock, even the heart."

Jon Wipfli is not here to tell you hunting and butchering your own isn't hard. But he is here to tell you it's worth it. 

_____________

HOW TO WIN A COPY OF VENISON

Jon has partnered with GoWild to giveaway several copies of VenisonFor your chance to win, download the GoWild app and comment on one of the posts about this book in the Giveaways trail. Or if you want to take matters into your own hands, buy it now. It's a great Christmas gift for the hunter in your life. 

Download GoWild



1 Response

Kyva
Kyva

November 04, 2017

I like my venison in Tacos

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Partner News

Otis Technology Partners with Outdoor Social Commerce Company, GoWild
Otis Technology Partners with Outdoor Social Commerce Company, GoWild

September 28, 2020

Just as 2020 brought rapid growth to the outdoor industry, the social commerce company GoWild is trending upwards. Activity surged in March, and the platform is currently at its all-time high for monthly active users, ecommerce engagement and revenue.

That momentum caught the attention of Otis Technology, a top manufacturer of premium, American-made gun cleaning systems. Otis Technology is integrating its full product line of cleaning kits, Ripcord®, hearing protection and more into GoWild’s marketplace, and is partnering with GoWild to reach a budding community of new and veteran firearms enthusiasts.

Read More

Giveaway: The Official Federal Branded YETI Roadie Cooler
Giveaway: The Official Federal Branded YETI Roadie Cooler

May 24, 2020

The ultimate combination of two prestigious brands! Federal Ammunition is giving away their official branded YETI Roadie 20 Cooler. This small but mighty outdoor cooler is ready to hit the road, whether you're in for a day at the range or the tailgate. Read how to enter!

Read More

Craftsmanship Meets Performance: The WOOX Knife & Sheath Giveaway
Craftsmanship Meets Performance: The WOOX Knife & Sheath Giveaway

May 17, 2020

WOOX was founded on a passion for perfection. They love nothing more than creating aesthetically pleasing, practical and sustainable products that will last not only for the job today, but for the task of the next generation. They are giving away their Rock 62 Micarta knife and genuine leather knife sheath!

Read More